1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Make it Count

I continue to be inspired by a Voxer Group, Principals in Action, and I was challenged to accept the “1,2,3,4,5″ Challenge.  Thanks Jay and Chris and Adam and Julie and Liz and Jennifer for your push into the blogging world. Here is my response to what I am calling the “Make It Count” Challenge.

What has been your ONE biggest struggle during this school year?  

I have struggled this year to accept that even when I have worked very hard, given my best effort, I do not always meet my goals.   In the context of disappointment, I have struggled to see the positive impact I have made.  I can let unresolved challenges overshadow accomplishments.  “Grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”  I struggle to find this wisdom.

Share TWO accomplishments that you are proud of from this year. 

  1. Using Voxer as a professional learning and collaboration tool (Amazing learning with amazing educators in a whole new way – I learned about this tool only a few months ago).
  2. Having several staff members getting active on twitter this year and contributing to our school hashtag #HarringtonHAWKS (Seeing faculty promoting the positive things that happen at our school makes me proud).

What are THREE things you wish to accomplish by the end of the year?

  1. Learning how to solve a Rubix Cube(a challenge from fifth grade).
  2. Seeing improvements to our playground get underway (funding and planning are moving forward through collaboration with parents).
  3. Using student survey results from grades three, four and five to inform school improvement efforts (Getting input from our most important stakeholders is powerful).

Give FOUR reasons why you remain in education in today’s rough culture.

  1. The children!
  2. I love to learn new things!
  3. A strong network of amazing principals that I can call on for support and inspiration.
  4. Seeing caring educators engaged in the classroom with our students everyday!

Which FIVE people do you hope will take the challenge of answering these questions?

Sandra Trach and Thomas Martellone, colleagues in my district.

Any #principal in action who has not taken the challenge.

Hamish Brewer – as you would say – “get after it!”

Lynmara Colon – because I started my career in Northern Virginia.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

